Washington’s South Central region OK’d to ease COVID rules

Six counties in south-central Washington have been approved to move to Phase 2 of reopening and can immediately ease COVID restrictions. The state Department of Health says the change came after a data error was discovered.

Benton, Franklin, Yakima, Kittitas, Walla Walla and Columbia counties were the last of the state’s 39 counties to be moved into Phase 2.

The Tri-City Herald reports that means restaurants and bars can serve food and drink indoors, fitness centers can offer more services, and movie theaters and other indoor entertainment businesses can reopen.

All will be limited to 25% capacity.

In addition, some small at-home indoor gatherings are allowed. (AP)