Idaho’s hands-free driving law goes into effect Wednesday, July 1st.
Under the new law, motorists are no longer allowed to operate a cell phone or any other electronic device while behind the wheel of a vehicle in motion.
The new law is intended to address safety concerns associated with a significant portion of distracted driving crashes.
Law enforcement troopers, officers and deputies will issue warnings from July 1st to Dec. 31, 2020. Citations can be issued beginning January 1st, 2021.
A first offense could result in a $75 fine. A second offense within 3 years could lead to a $150 fine; and a 3rd offense and subsequent offenses within a 3 years could result in a $300 fine. Additionally, three offenses in three years can also lead to a license suspension of up to 90 days. (Idaho State Police)