LC’s Johnson named Frontier Coach of the Year, Mitchell garners first-team honors

Lewis-Clark State men’s basketball coach Austin Johnson has been named the Frontier Conference Coach of the Year and five players were selected for the All-Conference Teams. Johnson, who is in his second season at LC State guided the 7th ranked Warriors to the program’s best-ever regular season – capturing both the Frontier regular season and tournament championships both years.

Austin Johnson

Junior point guard Damek Mitchell was named to the league’s first team.

Junior posts Travis Yenor and Lewiston native Trystan Bradley were second team selections, while senior guard Josiah Westbrook garnered third-team honors. Clarkston’s Jake Albright was named the league’s Sixth Man of the Year.

The 29-3 Warriors will compete in the NAIA Division I Men’s National Tournament in Kansas City, Missouri next week.

On Wednesday, LC will learn both its seed and opening round opponent. (KOZE Sports)